Candle Light Dinner
Breast or leg:
Gourmets on the Wackerberg

What could be nicer than eating and drinking with good friends?
Some say: cooking together. For them, the fun in preparing the dishes is the ideal overture for enjoying the self-created creations.
Others don't have so much confidence in their own imagination (and performance) at the stove and prefer to leave the work to the professionals.

Waldquartier Wackerberg gives gourmets the freedom of choice - cooking events with like-minded people, feasting in the excellent restaurants in the surrounding area or visiting regional gourmet events and degustations.

»It is better to enjoy and regret than to regret not having enjoyed.«

Boccaccio

Boccaccio, Italian poet, 1313 - 1375


Cooking with friends

Kochen mit Freunden From the simple preparation of food to a social event - cooking has obviously made a career, especially as a social experience. The Internet is full of tips and recipes, and the Stiftung Warentest even wrote its own brochure on the subject.
Since the authors believe that men too often prefer meat-based delights and therefore first of all have a common barbecue evening in mind, they present only vegetarian dishes in their publication.

The first step on the way to the cooking event is the purchase of the pre-products. Well - Aldi and Lidl, Penny and a big Rewe market are all located in Kall, no more than 10 minutes by car from Wackerberg. But wouldn't it be a little boring to fill up the stocks for the connoisseurs' rounds with the well-known discounters and supermarkets?
Today, practically every ambitious restaurant advertises "fresh regional products". And anyone who comes to the Eifel region has a large selection of local traders or farmers' farm shops to choose from. The regional brand Eifel was established to market them with an overview of original Eifler products and the corresponding sales points.

country kitchen

Dinner is served

Every good craftsman pays attention to his tools, and for a (hobby) cook this is the kitchen equipment. In addition to the technical equipment, a second resource is also important, especially if several artists of the carving knife work simultaneously: Space.

kitchen And last but not least, there is the communicative component: the work is much more fun when it is done in front of the amazed audience. The good advice from the spectator ranks is simply priceless:"Now taste it and maybe season it up a bit..."

Even if the equipment at home, from stirrer to juicer, is quite complete - at the latest with the other two criteria, it can literally get tight.
In the Waldquartier Wackerberg, on the other hand, it is not only the refrigerator that has XXL format. The kitchen is open and integrated into the large dining room, where up to 12 guests can be seated.
Of course, there is an oven, 4 ceramic hobs, a microwave, 2 coffee machines and a tea maker, not to mention various small appliances.
And what about the dishes?
The dishwasher does the job afterwards - quite uncommunicatively.

And what if the decision was made in favour of a barbecue?
Then the mobile charcoal grill comes into action, or the event is simply moved to the forest: an open, fully equipped grill hut is 70 m away from the house for a real community experience.

Wild-Spezialitäten

To go stalking

With its extensive forests, the Eifel is an attractive hunting area. Whereas in the past, venison was only on the menu of nobles, today there are butcher's shops that specialize in it - and of course also supply the "common people".
The butcher's shop Steffen in Gemünd has made a special name for itself, supplying its customers with meat from Eifel hunts throughout the year.
Another good address for meat and sausage products from our own slaughter is the butcher's shop Hammes in Kall Sötenich. For fresh trout, it is worth taking a detour to the Schilsbachtal valley near Woffelsbach am Rursee. The trout farm is also a restaurant for hikers.

hofladen

Directly from the farmer

Shopping at the farmer's farm shop is a rather unusual pleasure for city dwellers, always combined with a short excursion through the Eifel.
Good examples are the Kolvenbacher Ziegenhof (= goat farm) near Bad Münstereifel, which has already made it on television, the poultry farm Walter in Kall Sistig, the farm shop near Mechernich with meat and sausage products as well as bread and jam from their own production, or the Gröner Hof near Hillesheim with Eifel mountain cheese and young bull meat.


Catering

Buffet Sometimes it has to happen quickly - the focus is not on cooking, but on eating. It may not be easy to convince Delivery Hero, Lieferando or any other delivery service to drive a few kilometres through the forest. But that's not even necessary:
Right in Kall, there are various restaurants that like to supply the Waldquartier Wackerberg, including Peter Pan for friends of pizza, pasta and salad.

If you are more into kebab and other Turkish fast food, just call Ali Baba. The China Thai-Restaurant Zhao delivers East Asian specialties free of charge.
By the way, all three restaurants receive good ratings on social networks and Google.

Selected food, decoration and presentation (the eye eats too!) - this is the core competence of catering specialists.
The "local hero" in Kall, Schmidt Buffetservice, gets very good marks from his customers. In Gemünd, on the other side of the Wackerberg, the butcher's shop and party service Metzgerei und Partyservice Steffen has focused on Eifel meat, sausage and game.
And from Euskirchen, Helga Schroeder and her party service provide to smaller and larger events, including a party in the Waldquartier Wackerberg with a great Spanish-Mexican buffet.

Award-winning cuisine

Sonnora The Michelin testers obviously have a soft spot for the Eifel:
No less than five gourmet temples have earned a star - or several of the coveted awards - in the region. In the Ahr valley these are the Brogsitter, (1 Michelin star Michelin-Stern) and Steinheuers Restaurant Michelin-Stern Michelin-Stern, towards Moselle the Waldhotel Sonnora Michelin-Stern Michelin-Stern Michelin-Stern, Schanz Restaurant Michelin-Stern and the Wein- & Tafelhaus Michelin-Stern.
The newest (Michelin) star rose above Nideggen at the beginning of 2019: The Castle Restaurant Brockel Schlimbach Michelin-Stern, which only started in 2017, was able to score with "new German cuisine".

If you want to see several German star chefs in action closer to the Wackerberg, head for the Landlust at Flamersheim Castle near Euskirchen. At the four-day Eifel Gourmet Festival in spring, the chefs create a multi-course menu with appropriate wine accompaniment. But the guest should be prepared to spend a few hundred euros ....

At at a much lower price tag and yet tasty, restaurants around Wackerberg offer their creations. In Kall, Schleiden and Gemünd, in Heimbach and Bad Münstereifel a surprising variety of culinary experiences awaits the guest - from the castle restaurant to the monastery tavern.

Genießerwoche

Connoisseur week in Schleiden

Five gastronomic institutions in the Schleiden area have been organising the "connoisseurs' weeks" in autumn for some years now:
the restaurant of the Schleiden Castle;
the Café-Restaurant Drehsen-Theisen;
the Kermeterschänke;
the Gemünder Parkrestaurant and
the Hotel Friedrichs which, however, does not always appear stable in service.

Throughout the month of October, specially prepared culinary offers with a focus on regional products are served, seasoned with an entertaining programme of events.

Wein Baum

Wine degustations

Wine from the Eifel? The good wines of Ahr and Moselle have been known for a long time, as have been the wine festivals in autumn. In Kall, the Marc Baum, who studied oenology, has rejuvenated the family business and regularly organises wine tastings and culinary surprises in his own vaulted cellar, as well as with friends of the region's gastronomy.


Broschüre Schlemmertouren

Gourmet tours

Hiking makes you hungry. So what could be more reasonable than to plan a stop for the cultivated meal? The Rursee-Touristik developed four routes with scenic - and culinary highlights and the Eifel National Park offers various gourmet arrangements, too.

In Vino Veritas

In Vino Veritas

Carsten Sebastian Henn is a restaurant critic at the Kölner Stadtanzeiger, co-owner of a vineyard, and author of detective novels.
His stories take place in the Eifel, in the Ahr valley, where an excellent red wine is cultivated.
His books invite you to get in the mood for a good drop and a tasty meal...


A corpse for dessert

Eine Leiche zum Dessert Crimes and tasting are sometimes an interesting symbiosis - especially in the Eifel!
So guests experience every few months a "night of terror" on Nideggen castle . Of course, it is not the gastronomic quality that is meant, but rather the thriller dinner as a culinary and intellectual pleasure. The organizers advertise with "cozy ambience and upscale gastronomy in a historical atmosphere".
Comparable crime dinners will be held in the Krimi-Hotel Hillesheim, in Burghaus Kronenburg or in the Restaurant Steinsmühle (Bad Münstereifel).

Usually, an actor's troupe mixes with the - suspected evil - guests that will be involved in the plot. Whoever fundamentally rejects so much of his own engagement while eating is better served with a gastronomic reading.
Especially busy on the road is author and publisher Ralf Kramp - always a guarantee for an entertaining evening!
The other authors of regional detective stories can be found at dinner in September of even years at the crime days "Nordeifel-Mordeifel", in odd years at the crime festival "Tatort Eifel" in the Vulkaneifel.

Candle Light Dinner
Brust oder Keule:
Feinschmecker auf dem Wackerberg

Was gibt es Schöneres, als im Kreis von guten Freunden zu essen und zu trinken?
Gemeinsam kochen, sagen die einen. Der Spaß bei der Zubereitung der Speisen ist für sie die ideale Overtüre für den Genuss der selbst-geschaffenen Kreationen.
Andere haben nicht soviel Zutrauen in die eigene Phantasie (und Ausführung) am Herd und überlassen die Arbeit lieber den Profis.

Das Waldquartier Wackerberg lässt Feinschmeckern die freie Wahl - Kochevent mit Gleichgesinnten, Schlemmen in den ausgezeichneten Restaurants der Umgebung oder Besuch der regionalen Gourmet-Veranstaltungen und Degustationen.

»Es ist besser, zu genießen und zu bereuen, als zu bereuen, dass man nicht genossen hat.«

Boccaccio

Boccaccio, italienischer Dichter, 1313 - 1375


Kochen mit Freunden

Kochen mit Freunden Von der schnöden Zubereitung der Nahrungsmittel zum sozialen Event - Kochen hat offensichtlich Karriere gemacht, vor allem als Gemeinschaftserlebnis. Das Internet ist voll von Tipps und Rezepten, und der Stiftung Warentest war das Thema sogar eine eigene Broschüre wert.
Da Männer nach Ansicht der Autoren zu oft fleischliche Genüsse vorziehen und daher zunächst einmal den gemeinsamen Grillabend im Kopf haben, stellen sie in ihrer Veröffentlichung ausschließlich vegetarische Gerichte vor.

Der erste Schritt auf dem Weg zum Koch-Event ist das Einkaufen der Vorprodukte. Gut - Aldi und Lidl, Penny und ein großer Rewe-Markt sind alle in Kall vertreten, nicht mehr als 10 Autominuten vom Wackerberg entfernt. Aber wäre es nicht ein wenig langweilig, die Vorräte für die Genießer-Runde wieder einmal bei den bekannten Discountern und Supermärkten aufzufüllen?
Heute wirbt praktisch jedes ambitionierte Restaurant mit "frischen Produkten aus der Region". Und wer in die Eifel kommt, hat gerade in dieser Beziehung eine große Auswahl an lokalen Händlern oder den Hofläden der Landwirte. Zu deren Vermarktung wurde die Regionalmarke Eifel ins Leben gerufen mit einer Übersicht Original-Eifler Produkte und der entsprechenden Verkaufsstellen.

Landhausküche

Es ist angerichtet

Jeder gute Handwerker achtet auf seine Werkzeuge, und für einen (Hobby-)Koch ist das eben die Ausstattung der Küche. Neben dem technischen Equipment kommt es auf eine zweite Ressource an, vor allem, wenn mehrere Artisten des Tranchiermessers gleichzeitig zu Werke gehen: Platz.

Küche Und zu guter Letzt wäre da noch die kommunikative Komponente: Die Arbeit macht deutlich mehr Spaß, wenn sie sich vor den Augen des staunenden Publikums vollzieht. Die guten Ratschläge von den Zuschauerrängen sind einfach unbezahlbar: "Jetzt noch abschmecken und vielleicht etwas nachwürzen..."

Auch wenn zu Hause die Ausstattung vom Rührstab bis zum Entsafter ziemlich komplett ist - spätestens bei den beiden anderen Kriterien kann es im wahrsten Sinn des Wortes eng werden.
Im Waldquartier Wackerberg dagegen hat nicht nur der Eisschrank XXL-Format. Die Küche ist offen und in den großen Essraum integriert, an dessen Tafel bis zu 12 Gäste Platz finden.
Natürlich gibt es einen Backofen, 4 Ceranfelder, eine Mikrowelle, 2 Kaffee-Automaten und einen Teekocher, von diversen Kleingeräten einmal ganz abgesehen.
Und was ist mit dem Abwasch?
Den erledigt hinterher - ganz unkommunikativ - die Spülmaschine.

Und wenn die Entscheidung nun doch zu Gunsten des Grillabends gefallen ist?
Dann tritt der fahrbare Holzkohle-Grill in Aktion, oder die Veranstaltung wird ganz einfach in den Wald verlegt: Eine offene, voll eingerichtete Grillhütte steht 70 m vom Haus entfernt für ein echtes Gemeinschaftserlebnis bereit.

Wild-Spezialitäten

Auf der Pirsch

Mit ihren ausgedehnten Wäldern ist die Eifel ein attraktives Jagdgebiet. Während Wildbret in früheren Zeiten nur bei Adligen auf dem Speisezettel stand, gibt es heute Metzgereien, die sich darauf spezialisiert haben - und natürlich auch das "gemeine Volk" beliefern.
Einen besonderen Namen hat sich die Metzgerei Steffen in Gemünd gemacht, die ihre Kunden das ganze Jahr hindurch mit Fleisch aus Eifeljagden versorgt.
Eine weitere gute Adresse für Fleisch- und Wurstwaren aus eigener Schlachtung ist die Metzgerei Hammes in Kall Sötenich.
Für frische Forellen lohnt sich der Abstecher ins Schilsbachtal bei Woffelsbach am Rursee. Der Forellenhof ist gleichzeitig auch ein Ausflugsrestaurant für Wanderer.

hofladen

Direkt vom Bauern

Ein für Städter eher ungewöhnliches Vergnügen ist der Einkauf auf dem Hofladen des Bauern, immer verbunden mit einer kleinen Ausflugstour durch die Eifel.
Empfehlenswert sind hier beispielsweise der Kolvenbacher Ziegenhof bei Bad Münstereifel, der es schon ins Fernsehen geschafft hat, der Geflügelhof Walter in Kall Sistig, der Hofladen der Familien Sanden bei Mechernich mit Fleisch- und Wurstwaren sowie Brot und Marmelade aus eigener Produktion, oder der Gröner Hof nahe Hillesheim mit Eifeler Bergkäse und Jungbullenfleisch.


Sterneküche

Sonnora Die Michelin-Tester besitzen offensichtlich ein Faible für die Eifel:
Gleich fünf Gourmet-Tempel haben sich in der Region einen Stern - oder gleich mehrere der begehrten Auszeichnungen - verdient. Im Ahrtal sind das Brogsitter, (1 Michelin-Stern Michelin-Stern) und Steinheuers Restaurant Michelin-Stern Michelin-Stern, Richtung Mosel das Waldhotel Sonnora Michelin-Stern Michelin-Stern Michelin-Stern, Schanz Restaurant Michelin-Stern und das Wein- & Tafelhaus Michelin-Stern.

Wer nicht ganz soweit fahren, dafür aber gleich mehrere deutsche Sterne-Köche in Aktion sehen will, steuert die Landlust auf Burg Flamersheim bei Euskirchen an. Beim viertägigen Eifel-Gourmet-Festival im Frühjahr kreieren die Koch-Artisten gemeinsam ein mehrgängiges Menü mit entsprechender Weinbegleitung. Ein paar hundert Euro sollte der Gast aber schon dabei haben...

Mit weniger Prominenz zubereitet, dafür aber deutlich günstiger und dennoch schmackhaft, bieten Restaurants rund um den Wackerberg ihre Kreationen an: In Kall, Schleiden und Gemünd, in Heimbach und Bad Münstereifel erwartet den Gast eine überraschende Vielfalt kulinarische Erlebnisse - vom Schloss-Restaurant bis zur Kloster-Schänke.
Mehr dazu >>>

Genießerwoche

Schleidener Genießerwoche

Fünf Gastronomiebetriebe im Stadtgebiet Schleiden veranstalten seit einigen Jahren die "Genießerwochen" im Herbst:
das Restaurant im Schloss Schleiden;
das Café-Restaurant Drehsen-Theisen;
die Kermeterschänke;
das Gemünder Parkrestaurant und
das Hotel Friedrichs

Im gesamten Monat Oktober werden eigens zusammengestellte kulinarische Angebote mit einem Schwerpunkt auf regionalen Produkten aufgetischt, gewürzt mit einem kurzweiligen Veranstaltungsprogramm.

Wein Baum

Wein Degustationen

Wein aus der Eifel? Die guten Tropfen von Ahr und Mosel sind seit langem bekannt, die Weinfeste dazu im Herbst inklusive.
In Kall hat der studierte "Önologe" Marc Baum den Familienbetrieb aufgemöbelt und veranstaltet regelmäßig Weinproben und kulinarische Überraschungen im eigenen Gewölbekeller, aber auch bei befreundeten Gastronomen der Region.


Broschüre Schlemmertouren

Schlemmer­touren

Wandern macht hungrig. Was liegt also näher, als die Einkehr zur gepflegten Mahlzeit direkt einplanen, dachte sich die Rursee-Touristik und hat gleich vier Routen mit landschaftlichen - und kulinarischen Höhepunkten entwickelt.
Auch der Nationalpark Eifel bietet diverse Genießer-Arrangements an.

In Vino Veritas

In Vino Veritas

Carsten Sebastian Henn ist Restaurant-Kritiker beim Kölner Stadtanzeiger, Mitbesitzer eines Weinbergs - und Krimiautor. Seine Geschichten spielen in der Eifel, genau genommen im Ahrtal, wo u.a. ein vorzüglicher Rotwein angebaut wird.
Seine Bücher laden dazu ein, sich auf einen guten Tropfen und ein schmackhaftes Mahl einzustimmen...


Eine Leiche zum Dessert

Eine Leiche zum Dessert Verbrechen und Verkosten gehen bisweilen eine interessante Symbiose ein - vor allem in der Eifel!
So erleben Gäste alle paar Monate auf Burg Nideggen eine "Nacht des Schreckens". Gemeint ist natürlich nicht die gastronomische Qualität, sondern das Krimi-Dinner als kulinarischer wie intellektueller Genuss. Die Veranstalter werben mit "gemütlichem Ambiente und gehobener Gastronomie in historischer Atmosphäre".
Vergleichbare Krimi-Dinner werden im Krimi-Hotel Hillesheim, im Burghaus Kronenburg oder im Restaurant Steinsmühle (Bad Münstereifel) veranstaltet.

In der Regel mischt sich eine Schauspielertruppe unter die - Böses ahnenden - Gäste, die in die Spielhandlung einbezogen werden. Wer so viel eigenes Engagement beim Essen grundsätzlich ablehnt, ist mit einer gastronomischen Krimilesung besser bedient und lernt bei dieser Gelegenheit auch noch den Autor persönlich kennen.
Besonders emsig unterwegs ist Autor und Verleger Ralf Kramp - immer ein Garant für einen unterhaltsamen Abend! Die anderen Autoren von Eifelkrimis trifft man beim Essen im September von geraden Jahren bei den Krimitagen "Nordeifel-Mordeifel", in ungeraden Jahren beim Krimifestival "Tatort Eifel" in der Vulkaneifel.